Ice Cold US

June 2010
448 Pages
ISBN-10: 1101887389
ISBN-13: 978-1101887387

Buy the Book:
Barnes & Noble

Buy the eBook:


The Rizzoli & Isles Series

View the UK Version

The Killing Place UK

Ice Cold (US)


In Wyoming for a medical conference, Boston medical examiner Maura Isles joins a group of friends on a spur-of-the-moment ski trip. But when their SUV stalls on a snow-choked mountain road, they’re stranded with no help in sight.

As night falls, the group seeks refuge from the blizzard in the remote village of Kingdom Come, where twelve eerily identical houses stand dark and abandoned. Something terrible has happened in Kingdom Come: Meals sit untouched on tables, cars are still parked in garages. The town’s previous residents seem to have vanished into thin air, but footprints in the snow betray the presence of someone who still lurks in the cold darkness—someone who is watching Maura and her friends.

Days later, Boston homicide detective Jane Rizzoli receives the grim news that Maura’s charred body has been found in a mountain ravine. Shocked and grieving, Jane is determined to learn what happened to her friend. The investigation plunges Jane into the twisted history of Kingdom Come, where a gruesome discovery lies buried beneath the snow. As horrifying revelations come to light, Jane closes in on an enemy both powerful and merciless—and the chilling truth about Maura’s fate.


“The kind of book you’d read in one sitting.”—Chicago Sun-Times
“Amazing . . . another winner.”—The Plain Dealer
“Gerritsen paces Ice Cold with surgical precision.”Salon


Publishers Weekly
Unpredictable twists help propel Gerritsen’s winning eighth novel featuring Boston medical examiner Maura Isles and homicide detective Jane Rizzoli (after The Keepsake). While in Wyoming late one fall for a pathologists’ conference, Maura agrees to join an old college acquaintance, his 13-year-old daughter, and two friends of his on a last-minute ski trip. When an accident stalls their SUV on a remote mountain road, the fivesome take refuge in an abandoned village, Kingdom Come, the home of a religious sect led by a charismatic prophet, Jeremiah Goode. But what drove the residents from their 12 identical houses, leaving food on the table and pets behind? When the local police find what they believe to be Maura’s charred body and those of her four companions, Jane; her FBI agent husband, Gabriel Dean; and Fr. Daniel Brophy travel to Wyoming to conduct their own investigation. Gerritsen supplies plenty of depth in both plot and characters. TNT launches a new TV series based on this series in July.

Suspense Magazine
Every once in a while, an author puts something out that — for lack of a better phrase — blows your mind. Wow! I know that one word may lack a little imagination and doesn’t contain the normal fluff for a review, but sometimes when you close the last page of an incredible book, “Wow” is all you can initially say. With a startling storyline, “Ice Cold” easily slipped into that category.

A longtime fan of Gerritsen’s work and the Rizzoli and Isles series, I was thrilled to find myself on pins and needles almost instantly. As I read through the book, sinking deeply into the pages, the intensity of the story simply and literally took my breath away. When Dr. Maura Isles — one of my all-time favorite characters — finds herself in a deadly situation, my mind began to visualize images from Misery, where Annie Wilkes not so gently prods the author into writing the book she wants, keeping her beloved character safe from harm…

“Ice Cold” will shock, horrify and satisfy even the most hard to please thriller fans. If you enjoy feeling like you’re part of the suspense, pick up a copy today; it won’t disappoint you.”